Chester Himes Books in Chronological Order

Disclaimer: Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate We earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Coffin Ed Johnson and Grave Digger Jones Books

For Love of Imabelle / A Rage in Harlem (1957) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Real Cool Killers (1958) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Crazy Kill (1959) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Big Gold Dream (1959) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All Shot Up (1960) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cotton Comes to Harlem (1964) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Heat’s On / Come Back Charleston Blue (1966) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blind Man with a Pistol / Hot Day, Hot Night (1969) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

If He Hollers Let Him Go (1945) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lonely Crusade (1947) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cast the First Stone / Yesterday Will Make You Cry (1952) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Third Generation (1954) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The End of a Primitive (1956) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Run Man Run (1960) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pinktoes (1961) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Case Of Rape (1963) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Black On Black (1973) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plan B (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Collected Stories of Chester Himes (1991) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

My Life of Absurdity (1990) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Quality of Hurt (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Akashic Noir Books

Bronx Noir (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chicago Noir (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Baltimore Noir (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
New Orleans Noir (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Los Angeles Noir (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wall Street Noir (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Los Angeles Noir 2: The Classics (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mexico City Noir (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Haiti Noir (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kingston Noir (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Haiti Noir 2 (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
St. Louis Noir (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Montana Noir (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Buenos Aires Noir (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Speculative Los Angeles (2021) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

City Sleuths and Tough Guys (1989) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *