Louisa May Alcott Books in Chronological Order

Disclaimer: Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate We earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Little Women Books

Little Women, or Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy (1868) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Good Wives (1869) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo’s Boys (1871) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Jo’s Boys and How They Turned Out (1886) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Aunt Jo’s Scrap Bag Books

Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag (1872) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shawl-Straps (1872) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cupid and Chow Chow (1873) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
My Girls (1877) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Jimmy’s Cruise in the Pinafore Etc. (1879) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Old-Fashioned Thanksgiving (1882) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Eight Cousins Books

Eight Cousins or The Aunt-Hill (1875) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rose in Bloom (1876) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Inheritance (1849) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Moods (1864) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Old-Fashioned Girl (1869) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Work (1873) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Modern Mephistopheles (1877) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Under the Lilacs (1878) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Jack & Jill (1880) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Proverb Stories (1882) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lulu’s Library (1886) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Long Fatal Love Chase (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Flower Fables (1854) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Modern Cinderella (1860) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Picket Duty, and Other Tales (1864) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Marble Woman (1865) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Behind a Mask (1867) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kitty’s Class Day and Other Stories (1882) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Spinning-Wheel Stories (1884) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Garland for Girls (1887) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Whisper in the Dark (1889) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Louisa Alcott Reader (1908) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Glimpses of Louisa (1968) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Short Stories (1968) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plots and Counterplots (1976) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Intimate Anthology (1980) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Selected Fiction (1980) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hidden Louisa May Alcott (1984) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Works of Louisa May Alcott (1986) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Double Life (1988) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Louisa May Alcott’s Fairy Tales and Fantasy Stories (1992) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Lost Stories of Louisa May Alcott (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Louisa May Alcott Unmasked (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Modern Magic (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Quiet Little Woman (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Poems of Louisa May Alcott (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Early Stories of Louisa May Alcott, 1852-1860 (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Louisa May Alcott’s Christmas Treasury (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Brownie and the PrincessOther Stories (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Doctor Dorn’s Revenge and A Strange Island (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Candy Country and How They Ran Away (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Morning-Glories (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Poetry of Louisa May Alcott (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sisters (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Vintage Christmas (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
May Flowers (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Merry Christmas and Other Christmas Stories (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Chapbooks

Transcendental Wild Oats (1873) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Marjorie’s Three Gifts (1899) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Diana & Persis (1978) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kate’s Choice (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Debby’s Debut (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Love and Self Love (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Pauline’s Passion and Punishment (1862) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Abbot’s Ghost, Or Maurice Treheme’s Temptation (1867) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Perilous Play, And, Lost in a Pyramid or the Mummy’s Curse (1869) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Poppies and Wheat (1900) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Trudel’s Siege (1976) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Scarlet Stockings (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Baron’s Gloves (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Silver Pitchers and Independence (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Little Button Rose (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Mysterious Key and What It Opened (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The King of Clubs and the Queen of Hearts (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Death of John (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Cross on the Old Church Tower (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On Picket Duty (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Doctor Dorn’s Revenge (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Effie’s Christmas Dream (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dolls’ Journey (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Blind Lark (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Comic Tragedies (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
How They Ran Away (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sophie’s Secret (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lilybell and Thistledown (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Brownie and the Princess (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kitty’s Class Day (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pansies and Water-Lilies (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Mysterious Key (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lost in a Pyramid (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Civil War Hospital Sketches (1863) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hospital Sketches (1863) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Behind a Mask, or a Woman’s Power (1866) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Louisa May Alcott: Her Life, Letters and Journals (1889) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Selected Letters of Louisa May Alcott (1987) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Journals Of Louisa May Alcott (1989) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Girlhood Diary of Louisa May Alcott, 1843-1846 (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Louisa May Alcott On Race, Sex, And Slavery (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sketches of Louisa May Alcott (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Louisa May Alcott’s Civil War (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *