Dashiell Hammett Books in Chronological Order

Disclaimer: Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate We earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Red Harvest (1929) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dain Curse (1929) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Maltese Falcon (1930) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Glass Key (1931) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Woman In The Dark (1933) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Thin Man (1934) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
They Can Only Hang You Once (1944) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Hunter (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Adventures of Sam Spade and Other Stories (1944) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Man Called Spade (1944) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hammett Homicides (1946) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead Yellow Woman (1947) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Creeping Siamese and Other Stories (1950) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Nightmare Town and Other Stories (1950) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Big Knockover (1966) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Continental Op (1974) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dashiell Hammett: Crime Stories and Other Writings (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dashiell Hammett: A Retrospective Anthology (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vintage Hammett (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lost Stories (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Return of the Thin Man (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hunter and Other Stories (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Selected Letters of Dashiell Hammett: 1921-1960 (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Crime Wave (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Red Brain and Other Thrillers (1961) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Breakdown and Other Thrillers (1968) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tales of Mystery (1986) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
City Sleuths and Tough Guys (1989) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Best American Mystery Stories of the Century (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
San Francisco Noir 2: The Classics (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Books to Die For (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Creeps by Night (2020) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *